Travel Series

[Travel Series] Road Tunes: Life is a highway, and I want to ride it

A long car ride without tuneage, is like getting teeth pulled without Novocaine – painful and boring. Even when I was younger, my parents made sure I had some type of music to get me through the long road trips we had to Wisconsin.

Even now when I embark on road trips, I must have some form of music. My car only has a cassette deck (I cannot afford a CD system + install), so I had to go out and buy the CD player to tape deck converter for my trips prior to owning an iPod. A sales associate at Best Buy said that the converter could work on an iPod too…. WRONG! The sound is horrible, and it has a scratching noise coming through the speakers. Then I remembered that I can take out the headphones and let the internal speaker play the music… I do that now. I could purchase an iPod converter, but…. I don’t know if I want to spend that money just yet (a few of them won’t even fit in the AC outlet in the car).

For the trip next month, I want to create a playlist that both myself and my parents can listen to. When I’m in the Grand Forks area, I always have it on XL93; that will get me to about Fargo… after that, it’s hit or miss. So a great playlist is a must.

My dad loves rock and roll, while my mom loves country and popular music (no not Britney, although she toe taps to Gaga…. she likes popular music from the 70s – Monkeys, The Beatles, etc.). Then there is me – pop, alternative, country, hip-hop.

So over the next couple of weeks, my task is to come up with a great playlist (it must last over 8 hours of play time as the travel time is about 8 hours each way). My dad doesn’t like rap or hip-hop, so that is completely out of the picture.

So far I have – Prince, Madonna, Reba McEntyre, Heart (my dad LOVES Heart), Michael Jackson, Sade, Tracy Chapman, Terrance Trent D’Arby, Lady Antebellum, Brooks & Dunn. I would like some good rock and roll songs.

What songs would you recommend?

1 thought on “[Travel Series] Road Tunes: Life is a highway, and I want to ride it”

Leave a Reply

