In the world of emoticons, I was colon capital D

In a way, I’m Doctor Sheldon Cooper. “Who?” you ask. Sheldon Cooper is a fictional character on CBS’s hit comedy, “The Big Bang Theory“. Sheldon is a savant – he graduated college at 14, and has an IQ of 187. He is a cookie jar of information, sometimes unwanted information and can go on for hours explaining a certain topic.

I might not have a PhD in theoretical physics, graduated college at 14, nor is my IQ anywhere near super-genius, but I find I have Sheldon “moments”. My brain can hold a lot of information, my memory recall is pretty good and from time to time I am known to spew off random information – did you know that assassination attempts on monarchy were held on Christmas Day because everyone knew that they would be at mass?!

Like Sheldon I have a certain time and day when I wash my laundry, I can become uncomfortable in social settings, I go to bed at 10 (he at 9), I love a good debate and get angry when people argue with incorrect information. I also prefer Windows Vista over Windows 7. I don’t like anyone touching my food, I have stage fright, I don’t like people going in to my bedroom and I can tell you if someone moved something, anything, from anywhere in my home.

But here is where we differ. I’m not good at math or science, one look at a blackboard full of numbers and my brain implodes. I don’t have a huge penchant for video games or Batman and while I have seen every single episode of every single Star Trek, I am not a Trekkie. I don’t have a comic book collection and thus would never guard it with my life. I don’t know a Raj or a Howard, but I do know a Penny; Will Wheaton is not my nemesis nor is Leslie Winkle.

Now if you excuse me, I have to get back to my string theory research. Okay, I really meant playing Bejeweled when I should be completing school work.

Bazinga.

Leave a Reply

