There’s an App for that: Five Apps I’m addicted to, and you should be too!

Let’s face it. The iPod (or iPad if you so have one) has been the greatest invention of the 21st century. I know I wasn’t the only kid who had a backpack full of CD’s with her every day in high school, so this invention has helped reduce the strain a backpack full of CD’s does to your back.

With the invention of thousands of songs put in to one tiny device, also comes the ease of many things – checking email, surfing the internet, Facebook, Twitter, and weather all at the touch of your fingers. Not only can you access social media with an iPod/iPad, there are some pretty addicting apps that can come along with it.

Here are my top five addicting apps that everyone should have.

Angry Birds. At first, I didn’t want anything to do with this application. A few of my friends have it and they said they can’t stop playing. Last night I downloaded it, and well, I’m addicted. I seriously cannot stop playing it. What is it, you ask? A flock of birds become angry when a group of evil pigs steal their eggs, and it’s your turn to help these birds with a flick of your finger to exact revenge. Warning, it is addictive.

Words with Friends. It’s just like Scrabble, but way cheaper. I’m currently playing with Erin B. Inspired and we’re having a good game. WWF gives you tips on how to get higher scores, when to use your tiles properly, and what type of words you shouldn’t be playing. Just like Angry Birds, I can be up late playing this one.

iHome + sleep. This has got to be the best alarm clock app EVER! This app lets you create “sleep cards”; sleep cards are custom-made by you with songs you want to fall asleep to, wake up to, set bedtime or wake up reminders (like things to do before you fall asleep or after you wake up); iHome + sleep also charts your sleeping habits. My wake up song is currently “A Star is Born” by Jay-Z. I don’t use it to fall asleep as I cannot fall asleep to music anymore, but it’s a cute little app. Beat waking up to some random song or blithering chatter on the radio.

Groupon. Groupon is a group coupon giving you amazing deals on different things – food, drink, clothing, groceries, entertainment, etc. The catch is – you buy the coupon at a discounted rate and enjoy the benefits. For example: $10 for food and drink at X Cafe (a $25 value). So you get $25 worth of food and drink for just $10. There are rules and specifics that you have to follow (all listed on that deal of the day), but it really is a great idea. I used this while in Minneapolis and it saved me a lot of money on dining out. You can present the Groupon on your iPod or print it out and present it. Groupon just added Winnipeg to its list of cities, and I’m looking forward to taking advantage of the coupons available. Groupon is also available online for those who don’t have this app or have an iPod/iPad: Groupon Website.

Urbanspoon & Yelp*. This is a two-fer. Both apps help you locate restaurants in your cities, specific restaurants (Mexican, East Indian, American, etc), in what area of town and on Urbanspoon you can select how much you’re willing to pay. I used Urbanspoon while in Minneapolis, and I found Twin City Grill at Mall of America. While the ambiance is a bit dark, the food is amazing (the porterhouse steak is melt in your mouth!). These apps also provide user reviews which I find helpful. If a group of people don’t like one place, chances are it’s true and I wouldn’t like it. These apps are great for traveling, this way you don’t have to visit the run of the mill chains, and visit great eateries that are hidden away from view with really amazing eats.

Leave a Reply

