Reverb10 Day 9 & 10: Party time and being wise

on

Party Prompt: Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author: Shauna Reid)

This year the social gathering that rocked my socks off was the Winnipeg Blogger Meet-up. I mentioned it briefly for day seven, but it was really great. I met new people, from different walks of life and different blog writing techniques and styles; the music was typical pub music, but I’m pretty sure we were also watching something on television. The food was melt in your mouth and the smell… everyone’s dish smelled wonderful! We just had a great time. We learned a lot about each other and our blogs; we talked about things we had in common, things we found interesting.

I’m hoping we can get together again next month. And it be bigger!

Wisdom Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway)

The wisest decision I make this year was to fix my debt, rather, put a plan in motion. I paid off one credit card (a department store card with 29.9% interest); I put $400 towards a line of credit, bringing the principle payment way down. I also paid off my car loan in September. The car loan would have been finished next month, but I had the money at the time and I was in a good financial place to pay it off; it felt so good to tell the bank I had the money and they could close the loan.

I needed to get my finances in order. It had to be done, at least, even putting a plan in motion. I’ve hit a kink with being in school full-time and working casually, but the bills are still get paid and the plan is still in motion.

I eventually want to buy my parents house. I want to make sure that my debt is down so that I can obtain a mortgage and afford the house. Being in debt sucks, but at least I’ve got a plan to get out of it.

Leave a Reply

