Reverb10 Day 17: Lessons learned

Lesson Learned What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward? (Author: Tara Weaver)

I had this great post about how I learned this year that I was taking direction from people who thought they should give their two cents about and I shouldn’t have, but today I learned a very valuable lesson – never, I repeat, NEVER rely on the government to help you with your university tuition.

Today I was burned and burned bad. I freaked out so bad that I broke out in hives… I never broke out in hives before. This was serious.

How in the hell am I going to come up with $1500 plus cost of textbooks myself? I have a part-time job which is once a week and barely covers the bills. I had to think and think fast.

I went to Twitter and boy was I pissed. I was talking about dropping out and giving up on my dream. Then I thought, “What the hell are you doing? You’re almost there! You’re nearly done!” I decided to come up with the money myself. I decided to drop another course so that tuition could be a tad more affordable; the final total is $1030. I have the $30, now I need to come up with the $1000 by January 8.Yeah, January 8.

This weekend I am going to spend sending out resumes. My available hours are limited due to school and working Thursdays, but I am going to make it happen. I will have to meet with the university come January to see if dropping out of this other class will affect graduating this May. If it pushes it back to June or October because I have to take another class in the summer.. so be it. I really want to graduate in May, but it might not happen just that early.

So what did I learn? I learned that I need to stop depending on the government for a hand out. They really don’t care about you, even if they’re willing to give you money for school. Perspective students… watch your back and be cautious. My best piece of advice? Work and save the money. You won’t get stabbed in the back in the end.

In the words of Ken Jeong’s “Leslie Chow”… “you f*ck on me, I f*ck on you!” Don’t f*ck with me…. I’m not very nice when I’m angry.

Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

