Reverb10 Day 30: The best gift of the year…

on

Gift Prompt: Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year? (Author: Holly Root)

As I get older I find that I no longer ask or give store bought things for gifts, be it birthday or Christmas. When I was a kid I used to make my gifts, something my mom taught me, with macaroni, sparkles, etc… items I had in my own home. My mom made sure that I learned the real reason behind gift giving – the thought is what truly counts.  When I got my very first job, I went gift crazy… lots of birthday and Christmas gifts. Same with working for the military… I had the money and made sure that I bought lots and lots of things. I like to consider myself as Santa… I love giving. One year I gave my mom a set of mixing bowls – Anchor Hawking – because she loved to bake; dad received flying games and a new joystick for his computer because he loves airplanes.

I’ve always been about giving, but this year I was the recipient of something pretty amazing… the gift of new friends/friendships. I found people who were like me – they loved to stay inside and watch movies and they love going out for coffee to talk. It’s great having a group of friends who are exactly like you, who have the same ideas and like doing the same things as you. These friends taught me that I could be me, that I could let myself shine and they wouldn’t dislike me for being me. They encouraged me to find the best in everything, and overall, I learned to relax and not sweat the small things in life.

I’m grateful for the new friends in my life. We love getting together and having a great time. This is where we can sit around a table to talk about things that are bothering us, and at the end, we leave all that crap where we were sitting. We’re each others therapists. Paying for breakfast, cake or coffee is the best price for therapy someone could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

