Ole! Ole!: Mexican rice recipe

I have a love for Mexican food. Real Mexican food and not something that comes from a place with a bell in the logo. Earlier this month I decided to try my  hand at enchilada’s and Mexican rice; finding two good recipes I tried my best and even though it’s not authentic Mexican, it was pretty darn awesome! My dad really loves the Mexican rice and this is coming from a person who seems to be a picky eater. Since my dad really liked the rice, I decided to share it with you!

What you need

2 cups of white rice
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 medium Spanish onion halved, diced
2 cloves of garlic, diced
1 1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
2 tbsp olive oil

What to do

(Typically when I made the rice I use the pot that I cooked the tomato sauce for the enchiladas, the left over remnants of the sauce gives the rice extra flavor.)

On medium-high heat to the add the olive oil and rice, mix the rice and oil until all its coated. Add diced onions, garlic, cumin and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-high cook for 10 minutes. At the last two-minute mark add paprika, blend. After the rice is done cooking, turn off heat and stir rice. Let sit for five minutes.

This rice is really, really good. I’ve had different types of Mexican rice – authentic Mexican restaurant rice in the U.S., Taco Bell, Rice-A-Roni, Uncle Ben’s. All that rice is really salty and this recipe, there is NO extra salt added only except for what is in the chicken broth (I use the reduced sodium broth). If you like the rice spicy you can add chili powder and add as much as you like. This recipe also called for diced red bell peppers, but at the time I first made it I didn’t have bell peppers so I just cooked the recipe as above.

Edited 01.27.11 – Fixed cooking instructions

Leave a Reply

