Scrapbooking memories without the book

This past summer while I was on vacation I stopped in to my favorite scrapbooking store, Archiver’s, to pick up a few things. I became addicted to this store when I went on a vacation with my cousin two years ago; spreading her love for this store, she signed us up for a scrapbooking class and I became addicted since then. Since school started I haven’t had the chance to sit down to work on things, but I do have a corner of my office filled with wonderful scrapbooking ideas and supplies (ahem, high school scrapbook and vacation scrapbook).

I have many ideas stored in my head as to what I want my scrapbook to look like, but can’t really put it down in the books. I want my vacation scrapbook to showcase the wonderful trips I’ve had since I started traveling in 2007; the high school scrapbook will display the many wonderful memories I experienced and of course high school graduation (complete with chicken pox!). Since we don’t have an Archiver’s here in Winnipeg (somebody open one!), Michael’s is my go to store…. even the dollar store!

It wasn’t until a few weeks ago when I stumbled across a few websites where the blog writers discussed how to capture vacation memories. One blogger (to where the photo above belongs to, I cannot remember where I got it from! Sorry!) showed her readers how she captures her travel memories – a collage in a large picture frame! Isn’t that neat? That is how I am going to showcase my trip to Minneapolis this past summer.

I have many things that will be included in the collage, things such as:

Of course these are just a few of what will be put in to the collage, but I think it’s a great way for everyone to see what you experienced instead of pulling a dusty book off the shelf! The perfect frame for this collage would definitely have to be the SAXNAS frame from Ikea. It’s $5 and it’s dimensions are 21w x 30H. I purchased one in the summer with a really cool print (sold separately); I just need to get to an Ikea that’s close (neither the US or Canadian Ikea will ship this frame)! I’ll probably have to wait until July to pick one up.

Don’t get me wrong. Scrapbooking is fun. I love how I can spend hours cutting things and arranging things on a piece of paper to make them look so pretty in a nice little (or big) book. Scrapbooking is one of my ways of relaxing and forgetting about the world. I have friends who love to scrapbook and thinking about it… we need to get together to do a scrapbooking night! Scrap Fest is happening in this September in Minneapolis at Mall of America with Archiver’s. I think a September road trip is in order!

Do you scrapbook? What is your favorite part of scrapbooking? Do you host scrapbooking parties?

Leave a Reply

