Saturday Serendipity

With everything that has been going on I wanted to spend a weekend to myself’; weekend where I could do whatever I wanted. Being casted for a month limited things that I could do and one of the limitations was baking. I love baking. Baking is my release of frustration. I can go in the kitchen and bake, bake away and not worry what is going on around me. While lying on the couch resting my arm, I would think of what I could bake. Food Network was a friend of mine, conjuring up baking ideas alongside my tummy rumbling for all that foodie goodness! I would troll various food blogs for more baking ideas… it was great!

This past Sunday I dedicated the day to baking. I came across a blog where the blogger made strudel. While I didn’t have Nutella or macadamia nuts, I did have apples and raisins so I decided to make an apple strudel. It’s really easy to make!

What You Need:

one package of filo dough
3 large apples, any kind you wish (I used two gala and one granny smith), chopped
1 cup raisins
1 cup brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp lemon juice
2 cups butter, softened
2 eggs, beaten for egg wash

Pre-heat oven at 350F.

What to do:

  1. Chop apples and put in to a large bowl. You can peel the apples if you wish, but I didn’t. In bowl add raisins.
  2. In a medium sized bowl combine brown sugar and 1 cup butter. The final product should be like a crumble. Add to bowl of apples and raisins. Add vanilla extract and lemon juice. Mix together. Set aside.
  3. Unroll filo dough carefully. Filo is delicate and can rip. To make the crust flaky you must separate each layer. In a microwavable bowl, melt butter. This butter you will brush over each layer of filo.
  4. Once the filo has been brushed with butter and layered, add the mixture down the middle.
  5. Bring all side of the filo together, pinch seams together and flip so the seam side is down. Cut slits into the dough (see first picture). Brush egg wash over dough. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

This was my first time making strudel and it was yummy. The butter melted inside the strudel making the apples and raisins soft and cooking the brown sugar in to the apples and raisins. It was so delicious warm.

Later that afternoon I made brownies. I used the recipe off of the Fry’s cocoa can. Instead of walnuts I added caramel bits and mini marshmallows. It was so ooey and gooey. Delicious!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    OMG! This looks awesome!
    Your just like Izzy on Grey’s lol. jk

    1. Funny you should say that. A few of my friends and me started up a “midnight bakers” club after watching Izzy of Grey’s. LOL. I could totally bake like her.

  2. mmmmm strudel:) How much eastern europeans love this:) Next time try with cottege cheese mix, trust me its worth it!:) Or cabbage!:)

    1. Cottage cheese? Never thought of that! Will have to try it. I know I’m adding cream cheese to the next one!

Leave a Reply

