Weekend Recap: Water, walking and washing

This weekend I decided to get out and enjoy what my city has to offer. Winnipeg can get a bad rap, but I do love this place.

On Saturday the Province of Manitoba activated the Red River Floodway gates to prevent the city from flooding. The Red River is rising quickly due to a lot of water down south in Fargo; last summer also made this years flooding come quick – rained all summer/fall and saturated the ground, not allowing the snow to be absorbed well in to the soil.

This floodway is an engineering marvel. If you click the link I provided you can read up on it. In a nutshell, gates from the riverbed floor rise up when activated, pushes the river water back and diverts it into a floodway channel that takes it around the city and places it back in the river north of the city. It’s saved us from flooding, especially in 1997. My sister has never seen the floodway in action, so I thought it would be nice to take a drive down and watch it up close.

We walked one mile from where I parked my car, to the bridge (it’s actually half a mile, but there and back is a full mile). I got a good workout. Here’s some pictures from the floodway, including a video explaining how the floodway works:

Red River entering the control gates from the south

 

Floodway bridge closed to people and vehicles while in operation
The river as it enters the gates, raging on the north side.

FYI: The actual cost to build the Floodway was $60 million. Expansion of the floodway was close to $660 million.

Before we headed tot he floodway, we went to The Forks to check out the river water there. When the water is within its banks, you can walk around on the river walkway. We also visited the candy train. It’s an old train retrofitted to be a candy store. It’s my favorite place.

 

Halt, don't go there. It's high.
A long shot to show how high the water is
Two Canadian geese, whom I named Phil and Morton, check out the flood situation too

 

This is what the river area of what The Forks looks like when its within its banks

 

The candy train!

 

My candy stash - Red Vines and Grape Heads

Earlier in the day, before our trip to The Forks, my sister and me went to our favorite ice cream store. After watching the Food Network last week I was madly craving a dipped soft serve cone with nuts. I had to give in to my craving. I had ice cream for lunch.

 

It was very satisfying

Sunday was a very chill day. I wasn’t too sure if I would be able to get out of bed after the mile walk (it’s been two years since I walked a mile all at once). I did. No big deal. After an enjoyable breakfast, I tinkered around on the computer, organized some upcoming blog posts, washed laundry and cleaned the inside of the car (hello! Christmas tree needles from December still lived in the trunk). Well tired. My dad’s shop-vac is done with. I was in the middle of vacuuming the backseat floors when I could smell something burning. My first thought was mice got in between the walls and chewed the electrical wires behind the plug. I turned around and saw the motor area of the shop-vac sparking and smoking. We now need a new one. So vacuuming has been put off until I have a few dollars to go to the car wash. I did dust and clean windows. Plus I Fabreezed the seats so it smells nice inside.

A diner style breakfast at home

Last night TCM paid tribute to Elizabeth Taylor. “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”, “Butterfield 8”, “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” (going to watch this one!) and many more. It was my first time watching “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” and I loved it. Elizabeth and Paul Newman, such great chemistry. I miss old Hollywood. Just something about it that makes it so mesmerizing!

What did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

