Travel Series

Travel Series: Packing for a weekend getaway

So you’ve decided to take the plunge and get away for the weekend. Whether it’s a trip to the spa with a hotel stay, a girls weekend in Vegas or a trip to your favorite small town, a weekend getaway is the perfect cleanser for your soul. Now that you’ve decided where to go, you need to decide what to take with you. Did anyone catch that episode of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills where they went to Sacramento for the weekend and one of the housewives packed like seven bags? Jeesh! How many outfits does one need for three days?

Luckily for me, I don’t need to lug around so much. It’s just one small suitcase and that’s it. Everything I need fits into that little case and really, I’m happy with it. Do you know how hilarious it would be if I showed up at my cousin’s house with seven bags? Not only would it be embarrassing, but because I’m traveling with L.L and her friend…. there isn’t enough room in L.L.’s car for seven bags plus theirs. No freaking way.

I thought it would be great to revive the travel series and show you what I pack for a weekend getaway. It’s simple. It’s small and it’s easy.

In my suitcase I of course have the essentials – a few pairs of underwear and a few pairs of socks. Typically when it’s a few days close to June I don’t wear socks, but at night it can get very chilly. The first trip to Grand Forks I am so glad I had socks with me… it was so chilly over  night that my cousin turned the furnace on. Brrr.  I also have my bra, sleeping pants, sleeping shirt & tank, pair of jeans and capri pants. My cousin and I have plans to go to a nice bar/restaurant so I’m packing a nice shirt to wear, with two other shirts. That about does it for clothes. I also pack a towel and a few facecloths.

Next up is shoes. When I travel I like to keep it simple. If I’m driving I usually wear sneakers as I don’t trust flip flops on long trips, my feet are more comfortable in sneakers. In the suitcase I’ll put a pair of flip flops, flats and heels. I have a nice pair to wear out to the bar.

Another thing that gets put in the suitcase is my toiletry bag. I have a carry on case for that, but I think I’m going to try and put everything in my suitcase. In my toiletry bag goes the following:

  • toothbrush (not pictured)
  • travel sized toothpaste & mouthwash (not pictured)
  • travel sized shampoo & conditioner
  • travel sized hairspray
  • travel sized shaving cream
  • disposable razor
  • deodorant
  • soap (still have hotel soap from my trip last summer)
  • nosespray (for my allergies)
  • night cream & day/night eye cream (L.L. got me hooked on this, it works wonders on undereye bags!)
  • sunscreen for face
  • comb
  • medications (When traveling to the U.S. your prescriptions must have prescriptions label on them!)

In my makeup bag for travel I like to keep it simple (lipgloss/lipstick is typically in my purse).

  • Mascara
  • Eyelash curler
  • Neutral eyeshadow trio
  • Foundation & Powder
  • Perfume sample (great for traveling, comes in a small bottle. Viva Juicy Couture is pictured)

And that is what I am able to fit in to my suitcase…. and it closes!  In the front pouch of the suitcase is where I keep my travel mini-USB surge protector, iPod cable, cell phone charger and spare batteries. Sometimes in the larger pouch I can put another pair of flip-flops in to it.

In another bag I’ll have car items with me (I have a large cloth tote that I purchased from my university) such as snacks, water and a few magazines. This time I plan on having an audiobook loaded into my iPod. I might be able to get a few chapters on the drive down there.

What do you put in your weekend bag? More, less?

Leave a Reply

