Uncategorized

Supporting Pride

On Sunday my sister and me headed downtown to show our support for the 2011 Winnipeg Pride Day Parade/Festival. Every year around this time, thousands gather at the Legislative grounds for a parade that ends at The Forks. We didn’t partake in the parade (anyone can join in), but we did meet up with them as they entered The Forks and we stayed for the festival.

I was really surprised by the turnout. Reports have about 15,000 people showing up to support the Gay, Lesbian, Bi-Sexual, Transgendered, Two-Spirited and Queer Community. I was in awe. I was taught from a very young age that this community existed and that we love and accept them as we do anybody else. I was also told that many do not like them and that is wrong… we all bleed the same, love the same and hurt the same. I also have many gay friends, whom I love and support 100%.  I was so humbled and honor to be able to partake in this day…. we had so much fun. Just seeing everyone come out to support the community, have drinks together, dance together and have a good time together was so overwhelming. This is how it should be everyday, everywhere. It’s the year 2011… why can’t we be a little more accepting?

The parade enters the festival site

Representing the Two-Spirit Community

Parents bring their daughter to show their support… she was so cute!

Even dogs showed up to support the community!

There were some fierce Queens present!

Oh hai dere! I met up with friends down by the river.

Met the new babes for the first time. She’s adorable and super attentive!

I came home looking like this. I’ll talk about this later.

Note: I have been receiving some comments chiding me for saying that being gay is all about sexual preferences. That statement has been misread. That statement was made to me back in the late 80’s when it was presumed that being gay was all about sexual preferences. I am well aware that this is not the case. Now that this is clear, you can stop sending me hate mail. Much appreciated. – M.

Leave a Reply

