Internally I’m a 90 year old grandma

When I was a little kid, and I mean liiiiitle kid, my paternal grandmother taught me how to crochet. My maternal grandmother tried to teach me how to knit… that didn’t go so well. My paternal grandma would make my Barbie’s clothing and she made dish cloths and doilies all the time. I think I made a doily once. Then she passed away when I was 7 and I never picked up a hook again. I think it was because it was something she and I did and after her death it wasn’t special or fun anymore.

Now crocheting is making a comeback and it’s something I’ve been wanting to get back in to, but never had the time. Never made the time for. Well, that’s about to change.

I found my grandmother’s crochet hooks and a ball of yard in the laundry room cabinets. I am more than elated. Look at what I’ve already started….

It’s pretty basic and I had to use an online “how-to” tutorial to show me how to get started. Eventually I want to make a blanket but I don’t think that will happen over night.

Once I get some cash I’m going to buy more yarn and a bigger hook. The one I’m using now is just a tad small, maybe one size bigger would be perfect. I’m also learning my hands aren’t the same as they were 20 years ago and I’m still running into the same issues – I am having trouble holding the yarn and tightening the stitches.

Practice will make perfect and maybe, just maybe, grandma will be guiding me wherever she may be.

Leave a Reply

