Uncategorized

Adventures in volunteering

I am very passionate about volunteering. I have been a volunteer for over 15 years, since I left elementary school. It was because I wanted to give back to the school I attended and thank the staff for all the wonderful years I had spent being a student in that school. Along with my parents, my teachers helped lay the cornerstones of my educational foundation and I still go back to help them out. I have never felt the pressure to volunteer, or did it just so I could get a credit in high school. I did it because I loved it and I still do.

There comes a special bond between you and the people you’re helping. A trust forms and that’s the magical part. Whenever I’m out and about and one of the kids I helped sees me, they still run up to me, give me a hug and say hi. It’s weird to see them close to the age of 18. It makes me feel so old! But so happy that they still remember me and still like talking to me. I made a special bond with each of the kids I helped and it’s something that I will hold in my heart forever.

Now that the holidays are coming up, sub jobs are becoming far and in between (but I have hopes for January, January seems to be my busiest month) and I’m finding myself with nothing to do. I’m becoming tired of sitting around the house doing nothing, so to fill my time I am volunteering and I’m having so much fun! I’m back volunteering in the classroom headed by the second grade teacher I had. She is so much fun to help out and she loves that I’m back in her classroom helping the kids. My duties are helping the kids with vocabulary words, spelling, reading and math. I’m even being schooled by them in the process – mixing up my long and short vowels, saying certain words wrong when reading to them… it’s quite hilarious. They think I need to go back to the third grade and some days I have to agree. Today I was helping a group of girls with their multiples of two and we made a game out of it. I read a chapter out of a Ramona book for their book circle and administered a spelling test. It’s only day two of volunteering and they already trust and accept me in to their classroom. You’re certain about that when they run up to you and give you a hug. Hugs are the best! So are high fives!

I’ll be volunteering once or twice a week and I’m pretty excited about it. I’m looking forward to the holiday concert next month and helping the classroom prepare for it. I did that a few years ago and it was so much fun. I had a great time and most importantly, so did the kids.

Volunteering is something I will never give up. If I was given the chance to have a million dollars or volunteer for the rest of my life, I would go with volunteering. Seeing the smiles on the kids face and knowing they trust me… I already feel like a millionaire.

If you’re ever given the opportunity to volunteer, do it. Whether it be at a school, in a hospital, or anywhere in your community… please do it. You might feel good about yourself, but the biggest reward is helping others. And in the end… they’ll appreciate your help forever.

Do you volunteer? If so where have you volunteered and what’s your favorite part about it?

1 thought on “Adventures in volunteering”

  1. I used to volunteer with Healthy Start for Mom & Me, and at the campus food bank. I’ve missed volunteering so much, and have an interview on Monday for a new gig. Stoked!

Leave a Reply

