What You Should Be Watching: Bomb Girls

Canada, if you’re not watching this show you should be. Global TV’s new hit show “Bomb Girls” is a fictional look at the women who helped manufacture ammunition for World War 2 efforts.

Imagine being in your early 20s, your loved ones are overseas fighting the fight and you’re unsure of their return. Many of these women decided to help the fight by building the bombs that would be used to help the allied forces in Europe.

I wanted to watch this because my paternal grandmother was a bomb girl. She manufactured torpedoes for the submarines and PT boats that were positioned strategically around Europe. My grandmother rarely spoke of her role as a bomb girl and when I heard that Global would be producing such a show, I was very intrigued. It was like taking a trip back to the 1940’s and watching my grandmother at work, helping the boys with the war effort to ensure that the enemy would never take us over.

My grandmother passed in 1989 when I was 7 years-old and watching this show is like I have her back just for an hour every Wednesday evening. And for that, I’m pretty darn thankful.

Bomb Girls airs Wednesday nights 8/7c on Global Television. Check your local listings for channel.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Billie says:

    That is very sweet to hear and what a blessing to go back in time and visit the place that your grandmother probably spent a lot of her time….my grandmother was living in Toronto during WWII, and she gave birth to my Dad while my grandfather was overseas…I am now curious to find out what part my grandmother played in this war effort as well…..may we never forget our history and the price paid for our freedom today..we can never hear this enough….

Leave a Reply

