Uncategorized

Reinventing

The vacation I recently embarked on allowed me to recharge those mental and physical batteries, something I am very appreciative for. I am very fortunate to be able to afford time away, even for a short period of time, and while it may have not been to somewhere topical, it was a place that I love dearly and it allowed me to refresh.

This vacation gave me some clarity, which I needed. I was stressed, I’ve been working extremely hard and there were a few things that I needed to think about, reorganize if you will.

I am very fortunate to be employed. While it might not be 100% full-time employment, the bills get paid. When bills are paid, I am a happy duck. My job also allows me to have the summers off, which is quite enjoyable. I’ve been working full-time hours for most of it and while I am grateful, I have decided to take the remainder of August off once I go back to work next week (my assignment ends Thursday or Friday, depending on when the work load is complete). I will then go back once school starts up again after the September long weekend. While I will have August and part of September covered bill wise, I am debating about using Employment Insurance. EI is a great tool to have when you really need it, but if I can coast August without having to activate it, that would be great.

For the remainder of August I would like to do more. More blog writing (including a blog redesign), more traveling – within the province and only about an hour or so outside the city, get back into my gym routine (this time in the mornings) and strike up my freelancing plan. I’ve been thinking about that lately – freelancing. I would like to embark on document management/editing for companies who need it but don’t want to hire a full-time or part-time employee. I’m a Word wizard and can edit/format a document like no tomorrow. I’ve formatted/edited many company manuals, indexes, etc. and always thought of taking those talents outside of my 9-5 job. Over the next couple of days I plan on sitting down to work on a game plan and then execute said plan. I’m not expecting hundreds of businesses to knock on my door, but if I can get one… that would be icing on the cake. I know freelancing is extremely difficult, but if I work at it and roll with the punches, I’m sure I can get by.

I am looking forward to getting back on the sub list and back in schools. While I’ve enjoyed my time in the administration offices, I really do miss working in the schools – especially elementary schools. Not that I don’t enjoy middle school (junior high here) or high school, I just find more enjoyment and joie du vivre when working around little kids. They bring out the child in you and the show you how important it is to live and laugh and when you can help change their life for the better, that’s my payday.

I’m really happy with this decision. My heart is content and my head is less full. Sometimes in life you just have to take the passion you have and roll with and work on things. I have a good feeling that everything will be fine in the end.

What aspects of your life are you reinventing, or what have you reinvented about yourself lately? 

Leave a Reply

