Uncategorized

Grand Forks Potato Bowl Weekend

(click for larger view)

Last year I had the pleasure of attending the 2011 Potato Bowl USA Parade in Grand Forks, ND. It was a great day to spend with my sister and our cousins alongside the rest of the city who came out to watch such a cool parade. I decided then that it would become a tradition and I stuck to it. This past weekend I drove down to Grand Forks to spend the weekend with my cousins and on Saturday we headed downtown for a prime spot to watch the parade. I cannot tell you how much fun it is to take part in a small town tradition. The floats are different and you can see the hard work that went into some of them; watching the kids and adults alike having so much fun, taking it all in and participating in a community event. Everyone was lined up along the parade route with their lawn/camping chairs, coffee/tea/cocoa (it was a tad cold and windy) and buying sweet treats from the Farmers Market located behind us… it was just a wonderful thing to partake in. If you want to experience small town community I suggest you take a trip to Grand Forks next September and watch the parade. It really is a lot of fun.

It was a wonderful weekend to just get away. After the parade Saturday morning the remainder of the day was spent with my cousin as we had a girls day – clothes shopping, lunch at Paradiso, and more shopping. Sunday I went shopping solo for more clothes and groceries, came home later that afternoon for a great family barbecue and spent that evening watching reality shows with my cousin and her husband.

There’s nothing like hitting the road and getting away for a weekend. Especially when it’s with family and you both have a ton of fun. Did I mention that I purchased an entire outfit for $19? No? Well, I can’t go around selling all my secrets!

Leave a Reply

