Uncategorized

Age is just a number… deal with it

If I had to apply a Facebook relationship status to my twenties it would have been, “It’s Complicated”. My twenties were a mash-up of ups and downs, discovering freedom, dealing with tragedies and growing up faster than I should have. While the experiences put me through the ringer I will not trade it for anything in this world, it has made me stronger and I learned it’s going to take a hell of a lot to break me down. Haters gonna hate, bitches.

In just a month I will be turning 30. While some people dread it, I am very much looking forward to it.

After high school it’s difficult to be thrown to the wolves and try to deal with it. Now that that’s over, what they hell are you going to do? There are two things that you’re constantly fighting over – what society/parents/family tells you to do and then there’s what you want to do.

It’s like this.

Society/family/parents tell you to go to university, upgrade your education, get a job, get married and have kids. You want to go to university, complete it and then backpack around Europe for three months. Your twenties are all about finding out who you are, where you stand in life and the balance you need to find.

I was lucky to be blessed with parents who didn’t pressure me to do certain things – go to school, find a high paying successful job, get married and have kids. They really understood who I was and where I wanted to go in life. They knew I wasn’t going to marry young or have kids at a young age; I was always the hard working, continue my education kind of  kid and I respect that about them. “If it happens, it happens. Life is life” as they would always say. They didn’t kick me out of the house once I turned 18 because they both knew what that was like and that living on your own is twice as hard now than it was in the 70s.

In my twenties I started the ball going on my career path, said goodbye to the last of my grandparents, lost a best friend, traveled, purchased my first car; dealt with my dad’s health scares, found an awesome job, lost said awesome job, developed an excruciating injury, moved out and then moved back with my parents after being laid-off from a job. To put it lightly… it was a cluster#$% of a decade.

I learned a lot. I “found” myself and sense of being. Turns out I was the same kid all a long, just older, a bit wiser and still sometimes naive. I wasn’t going to change myself for anyone and I still feel that way. I am what I am, I am who I am.. just deal with it. If you don’t like it, there’s the door. Don’t let it hit you where the good Lord split you.

And with that decade coming to a close, a new one comes to open.

My thirties.

I am seriously looking forward to it. I guess it’s because of all the mystery behind it. What is it going to bring me?!

Yes, we all get older. It’s just a fact of life. Don’t spend another day worrying over your age. It’s just a number. Thirty is just a number. It comes after twenty-nine and before thirty-one. No matter what you inject into yourself or how many “magic” pills you take… you are not going to get any younger. Deal with it. Love your wrinkles, crows feet and laugh lines. Why would you want to hide it all away? Don’t you want people to know that you laughed and loved life even if it threw difficult shit your way? All that crap is just masking up what’s bottled up inside… Throw a great big $%^& you to the wind and move on.

When you turn thirty do you honestly feel different from the day before? No. You still feel the same. Unless you drank away your birthday, well… congratulations on the massive hangover, asshole. Thirty is not a death sentence. You’re not going to develop a full head of grey hair or a face full of pug-like wrinkles on the day your turn thirty. Instant aging at thirty is just a damn myth and you’re a damn fool if you believe in it.

So here’s to my thirties and to my twenties. I appreciate everything that I experienced then, hardships only make you stronger.

So who knows what my thirties will bring – marriage, kids, a successful career, a completed university degree… I’m not fretting, hoping or praying. Life is going to bring me what it brings me and I have to be patient. Good things do come to those who wait.

Whatever is thrown at me, I hope that continued happiness is one of them.

1 thought on “Age is just a number… deal with it”

Leave a Reply

