Champagne Wishes & Caviar Dreams

on

This photo was taken exactly 23 years ago today. I was enjoying my fried chicken dinner with my grandparents when my dad showed up at their door around 7 to cart me off to the hospital to see my brand new baby sister. I’m still bitter about being pulled away from my chicken dinner.

Anyway….

When my mom told me she was pregnant (actually I was the one to tell her – my mom was nauseated while eating dinner and I said, “Mom, maybe you’re pregnant!) I was really excited. I already had an older brother, but I really wanted a younger sister…. someone I could play with. A companion.

There was a huge age difference. I was just shy of my 7th birthday when she was born (five days to be exact) and as we grew older, it was a challenge. When she was 7 I was 14 and in junior high. I no longer wanted to play Barbies or any kid stuff she wanted to do. We fought like cats and dogs and at times, I could have killed her. She was always stealing my things, including my makeup. Bloody hell.

But now that she’s in her twenties and the age gap doesn’t seem so gigantic, she is now my best friend. Yes, we still fight on occasion, but we can now do things together that we enjoy. We really loved our sister getaway to Minneapolis this summer and we’re always going somewhere to do something.

And since it’s just the two of us siblings now, I don’t think I could spend it differently.

Happy Birthday, Sister. I love you. Smelly.

From this….

To this….

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

