Uncategorized

A Year in Review

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Oh wait… that’s from A Tale of Two Cities. My bad. Hell, it’s my favorite quote so I’m just going to quote it anyways.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way…

2012 was an interesting year. I wouldn’t say it was completely horrible, but there were times where I wanted to strangle the hell out of it. I think 2012 was more of a growing year… I learned a lot more about myself than I thought I would. Perhaps it had to do with turning 30 or perhaps I just was tired of putting up with bullshit. I’m not entirely sure, but I know that it was a year of growth, knowledge and wisdom, more than anything.

So here it is… a month by month review of 2012.

JANUARY

juryduty

I started off January pretty damn awesome.

January started off with beginning a four-month full-time term assignment with the division. It was a friggen relief to know that I would be receiving a full paycheque every two weeks instead of questioning when my next sub assignment would be. I put myself on a strict budget, but I was finally able to loosen the reins a bit.

I also received my very first jury duty summons. Unfortunately, I could not attend. I might be receiving full paycheques, but I wouldn’t get paid by the division and the province pays you $30/day for service after 10 days. I couldn’t chance it being only 9 days of jury duty and no pay. Extreme financial hardship would definitely have followed.

FEBRUARY

hot103chips

February was a quiet month, with exception to being hospitalized due to being poisoned. Let me explain. A box of dishwasher detergent that we had purchased contained a bit more chlorine than it should. While washing, the chlorine was released into the air and I became sick two hours after inhaling it. I went to the hospital soon after and found out I had chlorine vapors in my lungs and blood and went into an asthma attack because of it. Fun.

But what about those chips?! My friend, Chrissy Troy, from 103.1 Virgin Radio (formerly Hot 103) gave me two boxesof soon to be released new flavours of Old Dutch potato chips. I jokingly asked for one, but she delivered two boxes to my work. I gave most away but saved a few bags for myself. I confess… I love potato chips way too much.

MARCH

vanessapatio

March was pretty awesome month. Not only did Spring come very early to Winnipeg (mid-February), I got to do a lot of fun things with a lot of fun people.

Early on in March Vanessa and I beamed in the glorious sun and heat (in Winnipeg… it’s unheard of in March!) and headed to a patio one Saturday evening. St. Patty’s Day to be exact. We just couldn’t believe it was mid-March and we were outside eating dinner on the patio. Minds blown.

fargotrip

At the end of March my sister and me headed to Grand Forks to visit family. Our cousin surprised us with a side trip to Fargo for a fun day of shopping, and man, did we have fun. My sister hasn’t been farther than Grand Forks so Fargo was a nice treat for her. I love Fargo. It was a lovely getaway that we both enjoyed and we especially love it when we can spend it with family.

I also treated myself to a day at the spa. And loved it.

APRIL

hospital

April got off to a wonderful start as it was Easter. Easter is one of my favourite holidays and it was just my parents, sister and myself. I was a little sad because I was supposed to be flying to Seattle to attend a friend’s wedding, but that didn’t come to fruition. Major cheesed it didn’t happen.

I had a minor break from work and during that break I fell ill. Really ill. I had no clue what the hell was going on. I woke up in the middle of the night feeling sick and then it went downhill from there. I couldn’t stop puking and I was quickly becoming more and more sick. I was rushed to the hospital and I was petrified. What the hell was wrong with me?! The ER doctors had no idea but they did know I had a severe case of hydration from all that hurling. I was hooked up to various IVs while they tried to figure out what was going on. Luckily, for me, someone in the room next to me came in an hour after I did with the same symptoms. Through blood work it was found that I had a severe stomach virus that was attacking my intestines (I was in a lot of pain). Several hours later I was released and I looked like hell.

After a week of recovery, I returned to work.

MAY

shopping-spree

May was a month with transitions. I was asked to do another term in another department for two and a half months. I worked in the Board Office and had a blast. I learned a lot, met a lot of people and got to do some pretty amazing things. I really enjoyed learning how the division worked and appreciated the opportunity to learn it.

That was about it. I spent the Victoria Long Weekend at home instead of traveling south.

JUNE

newcar

June was a HUGE month for me. I celebrated my best friend’s 30th birthday with a grand brunch at a posh hotel. It was the best damn brunch I’ve ever been to… all the bacon! To be honest, I felt like I had a lot of money. The food was amazing!

In June I also made a big decision. I purchased a brand new car. My used car that was with me since November 2006 was slowly dying. I was pumping more money into repairs than I was comfortable with and it was becoming less and less reliable. I spent a couple of weeks before hand thinking of pros and cons of buying new versus buying pre-owned, but new (in the long run) won the contest. Sure, I might be in more debt and it will take 8 years to pay of the loan, but it was the best decision I ever made in my life. I never thought I would ever own a new vehicle in my life. Never say never. I’m already seeing the rewards of having a new car – better fuel economy (two full weeks before filling up versus almost every damn week before trading in the old car), starting up in cold weather with no issues, repairs covered by warranty (faulty block heater) and no longer waiting an hour for the car to heat up when it’s cold. Best. Decision. Ever.

Stay tuned for Part Two!

Leave a Reply

