Uncategorized

Christmastime

christmastime

This is one of my favourite times of the year. I love the gathering of families, the cookies, the food and the festiveness that Christmas brings. I also love how magical Christmastime seems to be.

Sure the malls and stores may be a rush of people frantically searching for the “perfect” gift, but to me, it’s a time of reflection and togetherness. This time of the year reminds me of the Christmases past of huge family gatherings where we were all packed into a small room eating the best cooked meals, playing games and just celebrating being together during the holidays. As we got older and the elder family members passed along, and some of us moved out of the city, the traditions fell wayside. We still talk about those traditions to this day and this year we will be resurrecting said gatherings.

We are all looking forward to being together this year, especially since some of us haven’t been together at Christmas for about 12 or so years, celebrating the holiday, playing games and noshing on delicious food. I’m overcome with joy and tears just thinking of this. Our passed family members are watching us from where ever they may be and are celebrating our happiness and how we want to bring this tradition back. I know they’ll be sitting with us at dinner.

I won’t be posting until after the new year. Over the next few days I will be extremely busy with preparing for our huge Christmas feast and deep cleaning our house. Christmastime is the only time where I take time out for two weeks to enjoy the season and just chill out.

From my family to yours, we wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

