Resolutions // Goals

resolutions

I hate resolutions. What are you trying to resolve, exactly? Shit you said you were going to do the year before but for some reason didn’t do it? And then the next year you resolve to do that same shit over and over again?! It sounds like the movie Groundhog’s Day.

I’ve never made a resolution. Why? Because I knew I would be able to accomplish them anyways. Go to the gym… yeah, didn’t happen the way I wanted it. Go somewhere warm. Same thing, didn’t happen.

Now I’m making goals and simple things. Just look at that poster… how much do I love it! Gandhi (yes I notice this poster spelled his name wrong) is one smart man.

This year will be all about making goals and sticking to them. Making them happen. No more wishing away… it’s going to be more doing!

1. Yes, get to the gym more.
I pay a monthly fee and yet the last three months I haven’t been one single day. There’s been slight depression, medical issues, busy life and just being lazy. And I can’t forget a month long illness at the end of December. There will be more days at the gym and even days where I participate in yoga. I need so center my chi.

2. Keep my purse clean.
Okay. I know this is so small and menial, but my purse needs to be kept clean and clutter free. No more receipts collecting at the bottom and everything is going to be organized. When I need to find something, I want to find it. Not have it take me three billion hours to do so.

3. Full time employment.
I say this every year and it doesn’t happen. I just have to keep putting it out there and I know it will happen this year. I’ve already got a part-time job, now I just need to parlay it into full-time. Or as Uncle Si says, I need to parfait it into a full-time job.

4. More travel.
I have something huge, and I mean HUGE, planned for the end of the year. If you’ve been reading my Twitter, then you already know. If not, wait for a blog post at the end of this week.

5. Do things // make things happen.
Too often we say there are things holding us back from doing certain things – money, life, commitments. Well, excuses no more. Live, people. Live. Buy that $300 purse, take that mini-vacation and have that latte with friends.

6. See life through the eyes of a child.
I may not have a child but I have the wonderful opportunity of working with kids and getting to hang out with some pretty rad ones. They see innocence and exude it, they see the world as a huge bowl of candy (mmm, candy!) and they don’t take life so seriously. Remember when we were kids? When we had no cares or responsibilities? Why do we have to let being an adult get in the way of enjoying things. I’m not.

7. Family, family, family.
Over the last year I’ve been big on family. Visiting family in the US more, hanging out with my family here. Reconnecting the family bond and most importantly… celebrating what we have. Unfortunately there have been some members of my family who wish to no longer be apart of ours, and you know what, that’s okay. It’s the choice that they made and I can’t change it. My life has gotten along pretty swell without them and I can’t, and won’t, take family drama. I’m too old for it. I’m just going to surround myself with the ones who care and love me for who I am.

8. What about your friends when you’re feeling down?.
I am a lucky girl. I have surrounded myself with the best group of girlfriends one could ever ask for. We’re all the same, but yet all so different. We share the same goals and dreams and that’s pretty amazing. This year I will hang out with them more, do more free stuff, and laugh more with them. Girl talk is so awesome over a cup of coffee… and a couple of plates of cake.

9. Fix the finances.
I’ve made a dent and then made a dent. I made plans to fix and then added a car to the mix. But it’s okay. I’ve been budgeting and sticking to it and it’s been pretty good. I’m proud of myself at how I kept to this budget and not going astray. The lack of full-time employment is a big factor, but I have been taking the small steps to ensure that it will all be okay in the end.

10. Blog with intention.I’ve decided that I will only blog when I have something interesting to say and not to just fill space. I like sharing my thoughts and ideas with people and I need this to be more of a creative space then just a filler. There are so many blogs out there that are fillers, I want mine to be different.

What are your goals for 2013?

One Comment Add yours

  1. I just found your blog via your comment on Silly Grrl’s about doing what you like and not what others like. I enjoyed your comment so had to head over to your blog. :)

    I couldn’t agree more on resolutions. I set goals not resolutions, this year and throughout the year. The goals I shared on my blog are ones that I set a long while back (not on a whim because it’s the new year…as that’s the thing to do) and many of which I’ve started on.

    I love your #10!!! I especially love the way you worded it. I did my first vlog and I talk about quality over quality where I realized I was trying to blog so much, so often, and it was just hurting me and my writing authenticity. So now I blog when I really want to, on what I really want to. I’m really sick of the blogs with fillers. I skip over the fillers and I think, like you pointed out, you really stand out when you stay original and not fill up just to fill up. Granted, I know “filler” is all perspective and some people might call a post of mine filler. I just know that I put my heart and soul into it and do what I love and really I think that’s the difference between writing and filler. I often wonder if people fill up (who have ads) just because they think maybe more people will click on the ads. Just something I’ve wondered. Anyway, I’m happy to have found someone similar as far as goals and blogging intentions. I look forward to what you have to share.

    Cheers!
    Aubrey

Leave a Reply

