Uncategorized

Hello, my friends.

Whoa. Hasn’t it been a while my lovely blog readers? Yup. It sure has. The last few weeks have been so crazy and filled with a lot of various things, that it just flew right by. How in the heck did we get to May 3rd? I have no idea. Do you? I think I can finally take a collective sigh of relief now that everything has quieted down.

For instance, my dad is finally out of the hospital. He was discharged two months to the day (well, one day before it being officially two months) of being hospitalized. He was given the go ahead from the doctor and home care to finally go home. He is loving every minute of being home and his leg is almost completely healed. He just loves being able to sit in his big recliner, watch shows on a big TV and cuddle with our dog. I think our dog enjoys it more than my dad does. And the best news of it all… my dad is back to doing everything he did prior to becoming ill. Thank you for all of your kind words of well wishes and thoughts/prayers. We appreciate it all.

The week my dad was discharged I fell ill. Really ill. I woke up the Sunday prior feeling a little congested. I went out anyway because I chalked it up to allergies – the snow was gone and the sand/dirt under the snow was starting to rear its ugly head. That night I picked my mom up from visiting my dad and I felt like I was run over by a truck. I could barely move, or breathe, and I called in sick at work. I was off work the entire week. Finally I dragged myself out of the house to see my doctor – dun dun dun…. I had pneumonia. I knew it. I had the same symptoms as when I fell ill with it in 2008 and it felt like I inhaled water. The antibiotics I was prescribed worked really fast and I was able to return to work the following Monday. It took about a full week afterward to feel (and be) completely healed. Now I’m dealing with allergies. No people, I am not sick… I am blowing my nose because of  my ALLERGIES!

I am also busy with work. I really love my job. I am an educational assistant, working with a special needs child. My job can be stressful and frustrating and times, but I really am in love with it. This is what I have been waiting for and despite the years in university and thousands of dollars spent on tuition (for something totally different), I’ve finally found my niche and I am extremely happy. I work with grade one students in the most amazing class, with the most amazing kids. Every single day I get to see life through the eyes of children. Every single day I am reminded what it was like to be six/seven, and reminded of how I didn’t have to worry about a thing in the world. Being an adult can suck (while most of the time it’s pretty awesome), but when I step into that classroom all of my worries are gone. Thanks kids, I owe you big time!

This week I was told that I would be working right up to the last day of school. I was also given some pretty good news but I have to keep it a secret, for now. I’ve told a select few, a few people who’ve been in my corner for a long time. Let’s just say I am extremely hopeful. It is something that I have wanted for the longest time.

In just two weeks time I will be on vacation, celebrating my good news, with people I love being around. It’s going to be nice to finally get away and to finally relax. Even if it is for three days. Thank you Queen Victoria for being born…. and once our monarch. Ish. It’s also going to be a little sad because it’s my last time spending extended days in this little lovely town. My cousin is moving to a new city, and I think I’m just as excited as they are. In a few months once they embark on their new journey, I will be helping them unpack and move into their new home. I am really looking forward to it. I am super excited for them.

I’ve also decided that I am going to change the direction this blog has been going. Not only have I been in a blogging funk because of personal circumstances, but I’ve lost my blogging mojo. I didn’t know exactly where I stood when it came to writing here, and I wasn’t sure if I would continue. Writing is my creative outlet, as it is for many, but the words just weren’t coming out. When I started out I knew I wasn’t going to mold myself into what other bloggers were doing. I was going to share my life and thoughts and just hope that someone, somewhere, was following along.

Then came this – Danielle Hampton of “Sometimes Sweet”, talking at a blog conference about finding your voice. I don’t know Danielle personally, but after being a loyal reader of her blog about her talking about her adorably sweet life, something resonated with me from her discussion – talk about what you want to talk about and don’t worry about what others think. It’s your blog, not theirs. So if I want to talk about my love for cheese, I will talk about my love for cheese. She also said to believe in yourself and others will see it (in your writing). How true that is! So from now on, I am going to write about what I want to write about. If there’s a few days, weeks or even months in between posts… so be it. I’m not here to please everyone. I am here to talk about things I find important, fascinating, or to vent.

So stay tuned peoples… a change is coming. I’m going to do me, and only me. Will you be along for the ride?

Leave a Reply

