Get out of town

gimlibeach

Have you ever needed to escape? I mean really needed to escape, escape from what is grinding you down? Taking away your energy? Erasing your spirit? Well after everything that has happened over the last few weeks, yesterday I grabbed a friend and headed the heck out of town.

And it was exactly what I needed. What my spirit needed.

I woke up early to pick up my sweet and dear friend Vanessa and we headed for the lovely little town of Gimli, Manitoba. Now, if you haven’t been… you’re definitely missing something. It’s this quaint little town, nestled on the banks of Lake Winnipeg, home to Icelandic settlers. This past weekend Gimli hosted the annual Icelandic Festival, a fun festival celebrating its Icelandic roots. You seriously need to do this once or twice in your lifetime. It really is fun!

The weather was perfect and I am proud to say that I walked that entire town… with no issues! Talk about a HUGE feat! We made it in time for the parade, watched it and enjoyed it! Love, love, LOVE small town parades! Walked to the beach and sat on the shore watching a sailboat waaaaayyyy off in the distance, and then walked to the park where the main festivities are held. Now, I haven’t been there in ages (since I was a kid), so everything has definitely changed. Once we surveyed the happenings at the park, we walked all the way back to the car and drove back to the park with our delicious (and it was very delicious) picnic lunch. GO SANDWICHES!

After our lunch and a quick tour of the pavilion, we headed back to the boardwalk area to check out a cute little store called Tergesen’s (I seriously need to go back with cash!) and then back to the beach! I honestly can say I don’t remember swimming in a lake when I was a kid. So, to change that, I dipped my feet into the cool lake and zoned out for a bit. Some people say that Manitoba is a boring province, but when you step back and take a look a it, I mean… really look at it, it sure is beautiful. I know that on the other side of Lake Winnipeg is land, but when you’re looking out across the lake, it’s like as if it goes on forever and doesn’t end. Such a beautiful province to explore.

This little excursion is exactly what the doctor ordered, and I’m so glad I was afforded the opportunity to do so. I’ll definitely be going back next year.

Here are a few pictures I snapped, for your viewing pleasure.

gimlibeach2

gimlibeach4

gimlibeach5

Leave a Reply

