What’s in my reading bag – February

keepcalmandread

February kicks off I Love to Read month and boy am I excited. I remember clearly when I was in elementary school and we had to DEAR (Drop Everything and Read) when the principal would ring the bell, and I loved it. I made sure I picked out my favourite books from the library so I could dig into them when that bell went off. As I got older, it was chapter books. Oh how much fun it was!

Now that I’m working in that school, I am excited to share my excitement once again. I Love to Read month kicks off Tuesday, and while there will be prizes for the top readers, I am just so excited to share my love of reading good books with the students.

My kids always love the ones I pick out and I’ve been catching them reading the most recent selections over and over again; spying one student asking another when they will be done with it so they can read it! Fun!

So here it is… my two selections for February!

give-a-dog-donut

If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff

If you’re a mom or an educator, you’ve read all of the books in this loveable series. Starting with If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, Ms. Numeroff uses cute cuddly animals filling the roles of the quirky characters, adding the Dog to the series in 2011 (which is also her latest). If you give a dog a donut be prepared to give him apple juice which will lead to some shenanigans.

Ruby Valentine Saves the Day by Laurie Friedman

It is absolutely no mistake that I chose this book for February. I love reading Valentine themed books to the kids, including mushy love stories, because the girls absolutely love them and it is fun to see the boys squirm (Ewwwww! They like each other!). Oh kids. Ruby is a sweet little girl who moves to a new town and wants to throw a Valentine’s Day party only to find herself in a snowy disappointment.

What books do you like to read to the young ones? Do you incorporate a monthly/seasonal reading theme?

Leave a Reply

