Just add bacon

baconpasta

On Monday I finally cracked open the latest issue of Food Network Magazine, and boy, was I glad! IT’S THE BACON ISSUE! Oh nom, nom, nom… bacon makes everything better!

The pasta dish on the cover looked especially delicious and being lunchtime, I was starving! I had to substitute a few things (leeks, cream and parm), but it turned out so well! I used sour cream, skim milk, and smoked mozzarella (Bothwell Cheese) as the sub; to enhance the flavour I added a tsp of Epicure’s Blue Cheese Dip Mix and feta cheese as a topper.

It turned out so well and so delicious. I was very impressed with the blending of the cheeses and how well they complimented the dish and each other. The blue cheese mix made the bacon flavour pop and the feta didn’t make the dish saltier than it would be. The dish does not take long to prepare and the end result will leave you with a very tasty dish (plus the leftovers are even better)!

Go out and buy this issue of the magazine. I am itching to make the chocolate bacon cupcakes! Um, yum!

Leave a Reply

