Recipes

Israeli Couscous & Artichoke Salad

israelicouscoussalad2

This recipe is courtesy of Style at Home and it is a great salad for lunch. Not only is it delicious, it is filling. I did not have artichokes, halloumi or butter beans (subbed for chickpeas), but nonetheless, it was very tasty – my dad found it delicious and he is not an adventurous eater. The dressing takes it to another level!

 roasttomatoes

I started the recipe by roasting baby tomatoes from my garden. This year has been a banner year for baby tomatoes and the harvest is plenty. I cut the tomatoes in half, lined a cookie sheet with parchment paper and drizzled extra virgin olive oil and sea salt onto them; roasting them in the oven for 30 minutes. They come out nice and roasted and very tasty.

toastisraelicouscous

In a pan I heated olive oil and chopped garlic. Once the garlic is slightly brown I added the Israeli couscous and stirred it until evenly coated and lightly toasted. 2 cups of water is added and brought to a boil then simmered for 8-10 minutes; fluff with a fork and all other ingredients. Add dressing and serve warm.

I cannot say it enough – this is a tasty dish that will fill you up without the unnecessary carbs. This will definitely be a staple in my work lunches lineup.

Leave a Reply

