Local

Shop Local: Jenna Rae Cakes

(C) Belle in the North
For a sweet treat, Jenna Rae Cakes on Academy Road is the place to visit.

It’s no secret – I love cookies and cake. There is no will power when the two are presented before me.

Enter Jenna Rae Cakes. Officially opened for business on March 29, 2014 Jenna Rae Cakes offers a variety of of delectable goodies to satisfy your sweet tooth – cookies, macarons, cake pops, cupcakes, mini cheesecakes, and so much more. The menu changes daily with a tiny spot to sit down and enjoy the treats if you wish to sip a cup of coffee and savour it all.

New to the macaron craze, I had to stop in and see what the fuss was all about. I was not disappointed. The macarons were sweet, flavourful and quite an assortment was available. However, if you don’t get there when the bakery opens at 12… don’t plan on having your heart set on one specific flavour. Very popular with the Winnipeg crowd, the macarons are snapped up quickly and by 1:30 a lot of them disappear.

(C) Belle in the north

This year I decided to go all out with my birthday cake and splurge. Tired of the run of the mill grocery store birthday cake, I arranged an appointment with Jenna and drafted what would become my birthday cake. I didn’t have a party for my Sweet 16, so I thought that 16 years later I would need something spectacular for my 32nd. It was a Sweet 16 redo.

(C) Belle in the North

Jenna came up with this creation – cotton candy cake (extremely popular at the bakery) with butter cream icing, ombré rosettes and sugar flowers. Isn’t it gorgeous? It was absolutely decadent and perfect for my birthday celebration. Thank you Jenna for this beautiful and tasty cake!

If you’re looking for something truly decadent and would like to try the macaron craze, a visit to Jenna Rae Cakes is a must. A holiday macaron package and gift cards are available for a limited time offer.

P.S. It’s macaron not macaroon.

(C) Belle in the North

 Jenna Rae Cakes
 (Website | Instagram | Twitter)

580 Academy Road
(204) 691-4222
Hours: Sunday & Monday – Closed, Tuesday – Friday 12 to 6, Saturday – 12 to 5.

Leave a Reply

