Explore Your Own Backyard

See It All: Folklorama 2015 Week 1

pearorient2015
Pearl of the Orient pavilion, Week 1. 2015

Folklorama is a two week event here in Winnipeg where we get together to celebrate the various cultures that can be found in Manitoba. It’s a celebration of cultures, food and dancing. It is a lot of fun and I highly suggest that if you find yourself in Winnipeg during Folklorama, you go. Admission is $6 per person (kids under 12 are free); food and drink is separate. How affordable is that? For $6 you get to learn about a culture and watch some great entertainment. Plus, if you wish, you can sample the food that is available.

I have been to Folklorama almost every year since I was a wee one. Over the past few years my regular haunt was because I like to pig out on the food – the Ukraine-Kyiv pavilion is my absolute favourite. Dancing, pirogi and cabbage rolls… I mean, hello! Ukrainian food is just so awesome (plus with a Polish grandfather, I grew up on it). This year I decided it was time to go to different pavilions. Armed with a $25 pass (6 tickets), Mom and I visited a few.

Week 1:

UK Pavilion – 1770 King Edward Street

IMG_9004

Pip Pip Cheerio! Off to the motherland we go! Consisting of four countries within the UK (Scotland, Northern Ireland, England and Wales), the UK Pavilion brought the Isles to Winnipeg. My ancestors are from all four countries that were featured and it was nice to watch the entertainment that they may have participated in back on the island. Our favourite section of the pavilion was the “Tea Room” featuring authentic tea from the region and typical tea time dainties provided by Stella’s Bakery. I cannot pass up sweets. The tea and sweets were severed in/on authentic fine china. It was nice to have a proper tea time at 7pm! If the rain would have held off, I could have participated in sheep herding and archery out back.

Pearl of the Orient – 364 Dufferin Avenue

IMG_9046

Mabuhay! I decided to go solo for one pavilion and I attended Pearl of the Orient in support of my friend who is one of the adult ambassadors. Also, I love the Filipino culture… the dancing, the food, and the close-knit feeling of family. This pavilion is a definite on your Folklorama list. The entertainment is interactive and they get the audience to participate. The dancing features different regions of the island and it helped paint a picture of daily life. The cutest part of the evening was the dancing by the children… equal parts talent and adorableness!

IMG_9061

Leave a Reply

