Cooking with M

Cooking with M: Mushroom Soup

mushroom soup

Last week I had a craving for Mushroom Soup. As a person would do with a serious craving, I scoured the pantry for a can that I thought would be there (we always have mushroom soup in the pantry). No such luck. Instead, I had tomato soup. That evening I still had a craving and decided that I would use up the mushrooms that we had in the fridge and whip up homemade soup!

I’m trying my best to eat better and the recipe I found called for half-and-half. I substituted that for skim milk and added a 1 tbsp slurry of corn starch and water to thicken it up. It was so incredibly delicious and better than what you get in a can. My parents have asked that I made a few batches and freeze them for future quick meals.

What you’ll need

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 3 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 6 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 cans chicken broth (or one carton)
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/3 tsp celery salt
  • 1/2 tsp cornstarch & 1 tsp water > for slurry

Directions

In a large stock pot, saute onions with 1/2 tbsp butter on low until tender. Add mushrooms and other 1/2 tbsp butter, saute until tender. Combine flour and stock, stir until smooth (you can do this in a separate bowl – per recipe from website, and then add to pot). Bring to a boil and cook for two minutes, stirring at the 1 minute mark. Add the cornstarch slurry, garlic powder, salt/pepper, and celery salt. Stir well. Simmer for 14 minutes, stirring often.

I made a batch of Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits from the mix that can be purchased at Costco, Walmart, Sam’s Club, etc. I know it is not the healthiest, but it sure was tasty alongside the soup.

This soup can freeze well in an air tight container, or cool and pour (with a large neck funnel) into a Ziplock freezer bag. <– Ensure that there is no air trapped in the bag; carefully zip the bag and let the air out slowly as you go along closing the bag. Place the bag on a baking sheet and place in the freezer until frozen. This will help you stack flat frozen soup bags  in the future.

1 thought on “Cooking with M: Mushroom Soup”

Leave a Reply

