Reflections

Press Pause

Photo Credit: Dapinder

It has been pretty quiet around here lately. Once school finished at the end of April, I went back to work. Between work and personal life, things are busy. I am trying to enjoy the little things, be spontaneous, and live to the fullest. Now that I have a clear path, especially with my career, things have been zen.

And I love it.

I have also developed this new attitude – if I don’t take crap from my students, I’m not taking it from you. If I don’t allow my students to treat me differently, or with disrespect, why am I allowing adults to do that? There’s no more time for that. Things have been a little stressful and I am trying my best to not let it get too far.

In the meantime, I have decided to take a step back from blogging. As you can see, the posts are sparse. Life is getting in the way and I’m not going to allow blogging to get in the way of life. Right now, my focus, is all about teaching. Even though I am currently on summer break from school, I am still doing teacher things – planning, creating, and colluding. Okay, colluding in a good way with some fabulous educators. One of my goals as a teacher is to constantly work on my professional development and I believe one should start as a student teacher. It doesn’t hurt. People often complain that teachers have the summer off and don’t do anything – oh, we’re doing things, and while yes, we are finding time to have fun… we’re also planning for the upcoming year. Teachers take 12 months of teaching and squish it into 10 months. It’s not easy. Please don’t think it is. This summer I plan on creating new things for Teachers Pay Teachers, items for my future classroom, and things that I could use during my last year of student teaching. I’m also going to work on my teacher portfolio because before I know it, the massive job interviews will be here (February); I also apply for my teaching licence in December.

Life is moving fast. There are no regrets.

I will make no apologies for the lack of blogging or taking a step back. Sometimes we need to do this, we need to press pause. I’m hoping that I will have time in the summer to get back into blogging, but for right now, I’m taking it slow. I need to sit back and reflect as much as I can this summer and this upcoming year. My life is going to change very soon and I am so excited for all the changes that it will all bring. Good changes. Positive changes. Life changing, changes.

Press Pause. You’ll be happy with what happens.

Leave a Reply

